Madeleine Shapiro photo

I first heard virtuoso, new music cellist Madeleine Shapiro play during a Performance and Technology event at Dance New Amsterdam  in the fall of 2008. I contacted her the following summer, when I was looking for music for a new group piece I had almost finished choreographing –in silence. She graciously provided me with two CDs comprising several pieces. Although Paul Rudy’s “Vastly Shrinking Space” appealed to me, it was not right for that piece, while, happily, it’s perfect for After All..

Madeleine’s passion for the environment includes participation in outdoor winter sports, a trait I admire as I am inclined to stay home and cook in cold, snowy weather. As far as we know, we are not related by blood.

See previous post for more about the genesis of “After All.”

